Cook Islands

Two north and south groups of 13 inhabited islands and 2 uninhabited islands. Extending over 2 million square kilometres of ocean latitudes 8 degrees to 23 degrees south, longitudes 156 degrees to 167 degrees west. Northern Cook Islands are atolls and include Manihiki, Nassau, Penrhyn, Pukapuka, Rakahanga, and Suwarrow. Southern Cook Islands include Aitutaki, Atiu, Mangaia, Manuae, Mauke, Mitiaro, Palmerston, and Rarotonga (largest). North Cooks are tips of submerged, coral-encrusted mountains; South Cooks are volcanic and comparatively fertile; Rarotonga with steep peaks.

Name: Cook Islands
Location: Oceania
Status: Territory
Capital City: Avarua
Population: 17,000
Languages: English

National Anthem:
God Save The Queen

God save our gracious Queen,
Long live our noble Queen,
God save the Queen:
Send her victorious,
Happy and glorious,
Long to reign over us:
God save the Queen.

O Lord our God arise,
Scatter her enemies,
And make them fall:
Confound their politics,
Frustrate their knavish tricks,
On Thee our hopes we fix:
God save us all.

Thy choicest gifts in store
On her be pleased to pour;
Long may she reign
May she defend our laws,
And ever give us cause
To sing with heart and voice
God save the Queen.

Other Countries
To view other countries, select your option from the pulldown menu below.

Home search feedback contact disclaimer copyright