The Kingdom of Lesotho is a mountainous, landlocked African state, wholly surrounded by South Africa, lying between latitudes 28 degrees and 31 degrees south and longitudes 27 degrees and 30 degrees east. Lowlands in west and south are 1,500 to 1,820 metres above sea level, the remaining highlands 2,000 to 2,730 metres above sea level. Maluti Mountains and the Drakensberg range are the two main mountain ranges: highest point Thabana Ntlenyana 3,465.5 metres.

Name: Kingdom of Lesotho
Location: Africa
Status: UN Member
Capital City: Maseru
Main Cities: Freeport
Population: 1,929,000
Area [sq.km]:30,350
Languages: Sesotho, English
Religions: Roman Catholic, Protestant

National Anthem:
Lesotho fatse la bontat'a rona,
Har'a mafatse le letle ke lona.
Ke moo re hlahileng,
Ke moo re holileng,
Rea le rata.

Molimo ak'u boloke Lesotho,
U felise lintoa le matsoenyeho.
Oho fatse lena,
La bontat'a rona,
Le be le khotso.

Lesotho, land of our Fathers,
You are the most beautiful country of all.
You give us birth,
In you we are reared
And you are dear to us.

Lord, we ask You to protect Lesotho.
Keep us free from conflict and tribulation
Oh, land of mine,
Land of our Fathers,
May you have peace

Other Countries
To view other countries, select your option from the pulldown menu below.

Home search feedback contact disclaimer copyright