Northern Ireland

Country of the United Kingdom lying in the northeast of the island of Ireland. The Republic of Ireland bounds it on the south, the Irish Sea and St. George's Channel on the east, and the Atlantic Ocean on the north and west. Topographically, Northern Ireland can be thought of as a saucer centred on Lough Neagh (Britain's largest freshwater lake), its upturned rim forming the province's highlands. To the north and east the Antrim Plateau tilts upward toward the coast, reaching heights of between 300 and 450 metres. The rounded landscape of drumlins - smooth mounds created by glaciation - in the southeast is punctuated by Slieve Croob at 535 metres and culminates in the Mourne Mountains, which rise to Slieve Donard at 852 metres.

Formal Name: Province of Northern Ireland
Local Name: Ulster
Local Formal Name: Province of Northern Ireland
Location: Europe
Status: Constituent Country
Capital City: Belfast (Beal Feirste)
Main Cities: Derry-Londonderry, Omagh
Population: 1,557,800
Languages: English, Irish Gaelic
Religions: Protestant, Roman Catholic

National Anthem:
Not available

Other Countries
To view other countries, select your option from the pulldown menu below.

Home search feedback contact disclaimer copyright