Papua New Gunea

Between equator and latitude 12 degrees south and longitudes 142 degrees and 160 degrees east. Comprises east part of the main island of New Guinea and 600 offshore islands including New Britain, New Ireland and Bougainville. Mainland mostly central high mountain chain broken into ranges by wide valleys; extensive foothills and swamps in north and south.

Name: Independent State of Papua New Guinea
Location: Oceania
Status: UN Country
Capital City: Port Moresby
Main Cities: Lae, Rabaul, Madang, Wewak
Population: 4,246,000
Area []:462,840
Languages: English, numerous local languages
Religions: Animist, Protestant, Catholic

National Anthem:
O arise all you sons of this land,
Let us sing of our joy to be free,
Praising God and rejoicing to be
Papua New Guinea.

Shout our name from the mountains to seas
Papua New Guinea;
Let us raise our voices and proclaim
Papua New Guinea.
Now give thanks to the good Lord above
For His kindness, His wisdom and love
For this land of our fathers so free,
Papua New Guinea.

Shout again for the whole world to hear
Papua New Guinea;
We're independent and we're free,
Papua New Guinea.

Other Countries
To view other countries, select your option from the pulldown menu below.

Home search feedback contact disclaimer copyright